Look! A Tutorial! ♥

Izaak Finch

So by request *coughalexiscough* I made a tutorial for you all to see and hopefully have a shot at ^_^ I've never done one before so if there's anything wrong with it or you can't understand anything, don't be afraid to speak up :D
I use Gimp, which I imagine is similar enough to Photoshop that you can translate this tut but if not you can always download Gimp free off the internet :r

Anyway, I wanted to start with an easy-ish one, so this is the image we will be making ^_^
abd.png

[ul]
[li]First create your blended image. Have a go at playing around with the images, varying their size and positions instead of the standard. Sharpening and upping the contrast on your images also adds to the final result (Filters>Enhance>Sharpen) [sub]set to 10 or 12[/sub]
Note: This banner works best with plain white or light coloured backdrops, so try choosing a shoot like that for your subject. Most celebrities should have them in their galleries, so it shouldn't be too hard to find.
TIP-- When you initially create your blend try layering the images with different modes, such as darken. It's what I do because I get so frustrated with the clipping/erasing tool XD </LI>
[li]Next step is to colour the blend.
(Colours>Components>Channel mixer)
Red
R: 87.4
G: 7.4
B: -13.3
Green and blue channels unaltered. Preserve Luminosity unchecked
Press okay and exit and then enter back into the channel mixer (you may have to press Reset) to enter these values:
Red
R: 108
G: 10.4
B: -31.3
Green
R: -1.5
G: 99.3
B: -1.5
Blue
R: 4.4
G: -43
B: 78.5
Preserve Luminosity checked
Note: This colouring covers a broad range of images, but if it doesn't suit simply fiddle with the values a bit.
[li]Create a new layer (Layer>New layer). In the layers box (Ctrl+L if it is not there) Set the mode to Grain Merge and the opacity to 37.6
[li]Copy this image into the layer (scale it down if you want to get all the colours) and once you are happy, anchor it (Ctrl+H)