Can anyone play piano?

Athene Perthro

I'm working on a novel, and my main character plays the piano flawlessly. The only problem is, I haven't played piano in about 3 years, and don't own one either.

This is the paragraph I'm stuck on;
Like his father had insisted on keeping the Porsche, Art had insisted on keeping the piano. To him it wasn't a luxury, but a necessity to keep him sane. He sat down on the velvet stool and ran his long fingers across the unmoving black and white keys, and they made not a sound. He closed his eyes and

How does one go about starting to play? What key do you reckon he would start on?

Or, could anyone describe a difficult piece of piano music to me, and how it is played? Or at least, how it starts and finishes?

Or any suggestions at all, would be great ^_^

I play, but my problem is that I'm self taught and can't read music. So basically I can hear something and play it. Recently I've taught myself Fur Elise by Beethoven and Turkish March by Mozart. Look 'em up, they're both awesome songs! I haven't played in a while, but know that when you take beginners courses they say to have your thumbs start off on the middle 'C'. But that's for beginners, if he's awesome at it, then he wouldn't probably do that. I know that they say to keep your fingers slightly bent. If you want him to play Fur Elise then it starts off with your ring finger and middle finger on the right hand for the first 8 notes just on the right hand and then from there you join in on the 9th note with your left hand and pretty much 'travel' up the scale with your left hand and joining in with your right hand. I don't know if that helps, but I'm really not able to play like a normal person (not being able to read music at least). I mean, okay, I can read music for the alto sax, but that's it.

That was incredibly useful. Thanks so much, Alicia :)