</COLOR></SIZE></COLOR>
The Basics
<i>
</i>
Character's Name: Emer Kleah Laude
Character's Birthdate: 10 September, 1984
Hometown: Dunedin, New Zealand
Blood Status: Muggleborn
Wand: 9 1/5" Ngaio wand with core of Huia tail-feather.
Emer made her wand herself. She is self-taught in the field of wand-lore but wants to know more. She prefers a small wand, as it's easier to carry around and harder to break.
Ngaio (rhymes with 'bio;' Myoporum Laetum, also known as a Mousehole tree) is a native New Zealand tree that can grow up to 10m in height. The bark is brown and furrowed. It grows well in coastal areas of New Zealand and towards lowland forests. ((Thank you, Wikipedia)) In Maori legend, Rona grabbed hold of a Ngaio tree when the moon pulled her into the sky for abusing the moon goddess, and now you can see Rona and a Ngaio tree on the face of the moon. Ngaio's magical properties include healing and protection as well as regeneration. If used in duel it causes spells to be particularly harsh. Its magic is heightened when used in the light of the moon. Emer's best friend from childhood was named Ngaio, which was one of the reasons for choosing that wood.
The Huia (Heteralocha acutirostris) was a native New Zealand bird that became extinct in the early 20th Century. It was a mostly black (with a greenish tinge) bird with white tips on its tail feathers and orange wattles. ((Again, thank you Wikipedia)) It enhances concealment spells and is associated with esoterics. With some wand owners, it can instill an uncharacteristic boldness. It is also associated with death.
Educated At: Musselburgh Primary School, Dunedin; Tahuna IntermediateSchool, Dunedin; Bayfield High School, Dunedin; Gymnasium Dorfen, Germany; University of Otago, Dunedin 2007; Oulun Yliopisto, Finland; Self-taught in witchcraft and wizardry.
Shop Owned: Natural Magic